ISpaRo 24 banner

1st International Conference on Space

Luxembourg, 24-27th of June 2024

Submission due: December 10th, 2023
Notification to authors: February 25th, 2024
Camera-ready due: April 1st, 2024

The iSpaRo conference seeks to fill the gap between big robotics conferences and non-full-paper per-reviewed Space oriented conferences by allowing researchers and industry professionals to engage in rigorous discussions and share their latest findings in the field. iSpaRo aims to push the boundaries of space robotics by exploring new research and development opportunities. The iSpaRo 2024 will be held at Neumünster Abbey , Luxembourg, as a 4-day conference. It will start on 24th June 2024. iSpaRo follows a standard IEEE single-track format, combining a single track, keynotes, and panels. In the first three days, four keynotes will be organized. A panel discussion with experts from industry, academia, and the Luxembourg Space Agency (LSA) is proposed for the final day. In addition, this conference aims to strengthen the bonds between academia and industry. To ensure that the conference is targeted to have at least one keynote from industry and an exhibition hall organized in separate booths with participants from industry and academia. The exhibitors can present their robots and the latest developments in their booths. Furthermore, iSpaRo is expected to exemplify gender balance and support for women in STEM.

This conference is technically co-sponsored by the IEEE Technical Committee on Space Robotics. The papers have to be of length of 5 ~ 8 pages. The only format allowed for the submission is PDF. Due to the deadline, the authors should submit their papers electronically, written in English. The submitted papers are subject to a rigorous peer review process for their technical and practical contributions. All the accepted papers will be published in the conference proceedings. Accepted papers will be submitted for inclusion into IEEE Xplore subject to meeting IEEE Xplore’s scope and quality requirements. Submitted full papers should describe original research results and not be published elsewhere before from a variety of topics relevant to Space Robotics, including (but not limited to) the following ones:

  • • Planetary exploration
  • • Manipulation in Space
  • • Teleoperation
  • • Multi-robot cooperation/collaboration
  • • Space robotic locomotion and Terramechanics
  • • In-Space Assembly and construction
  • • From Earth to Space/Extreme environments
  • • Orbital servicing and debris removal
  • • In-situ Resource Utilization
  • • Satellite formation-flying
  • • Satellite swarms
  • • Prox ops/rendezvous/docking
  • • Fractionated spacecraft and constellations
  • • Space logistics

Conference Board

General Chair
  • • Prof. Miguel Olivares-Mendez (M), University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg.
General Co-Chair
  • • Prof. Kenya Ishigami (M), Keio University, Japan.
Steering Committee, Publication Co-Chairs
  • • Prof. Yang Gao (F), King’s College London, UK
  • • Dr. Amir Rahmani (M), NASA-JPL
Technical Program Co-Chairs
  • • Prof. Teresa Vidal-Calleja (F), University of Technology Sydney, AU
  • • Prof. Carlos-Perez del Pulgar (M), University of Malaga, Spain
Diversity, equity, & Inclusion Co-Chairs
  • • Prof. Frances Zhu (F), University of Hawaii, USA
  • • Prof. Raj Thilak Rajan (M), Delft University of Technology (TU Delft), Netherlands
Website and e-media Co-Chairs
  • • Dr. Sofia Coloma (F), University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
  • • Dr. David Rodriguez (M), EPFL, Switzerland
Exhibition Co-Chairs
  • • Dr. Ksenia Klionovska (F), German Aerospace Center – DLR, Germany
  • • Dr. Antoine Richard (M), University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Local arrangements and awards Co-Chairs
  • • Dr. Carol Martinez (F), University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
  • • Prof. Simon Bøgh (M), Aalborg University, Denmark

Scientific & Industrial Committee

  • • Prof. Kathleen C. Howell (F), Purdue University, USA.
  • • Prof. Kazuya Yoshida (M), Tohoku University, Japan
  • • Dr. Vandi Verma (F), NASA JPL, USA.
  • • Dr. Hendrik Kolvenbach (M), ETH Zurich, Switzerland.
  • • Dr. Barbara Imhof (F), LIQUIFER Systems Group, Austria.
  • • Dr. Armin Wedler (M), German Space Agency (DLR), Germany.
  • • Dr. Caroline Specht (F), German Space Agency (DLR), Germany
  • • Prof. Simone D'Amico (M), Stanford University, USA.
  • • Dr. Sofia Coloma (F), University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
  • • Dr. Navinda Kottege (M), Robotics and Autonomous Systems Group (CSIRO), Australia
  • • Ms. Irene Selvanathan (F), Neurospace Gmbh, Germany
  • • Dr. Uland Y. Wong (M), NASA Ames Research Center, United States of America
  • • Monica Ekal (F), Institute for Systems and Robotics Lisbon, Portugal
  • • Jaroslaw Jaworski (M), Managing Director, RedWire Luxembourg, Luxembourg